The winner of the ESS Merit Award for 2013 is Karen Cerulo, Professor of Sociology at Rutgers University.  She is a leading cultural sociologist whose central focus is on culture and cognition.  Her scholarship is exemplified by three major works, Never Saw It Coming: Cultural Challenges to Envisioning the Worst (2006), Deciphering Violence: The Cognitive Structure of Right and Wrong (1998), and Identity Designs: The Sights and Sounds of a Nation (1995), awarded the American Sociological Association Culture Section’s Best Book Award of 1996, as well as by numerous articles and edited collections.  Professor Cerulo has served as editor of Sociological Forum since 2006.  Her excellence as a teacher and commitment to undergraduate education have been honored by her receipt of Rutgers University’s Award for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Education and the University’s Scholar-Teacher Award.

For the 2014 award, the ESS Merit Award Committee invites members to recommend candidates. Those suggested should be distinguished scholars who have made outstanding contributions to the discipline, the profession, and the ESS. Recommendations should include a statement in support of the nominee and should be sent by October 31, 2013 to the committee chair:

Magali Sarfatti Larson 
ESS Merit Award Committee
Emeritus, Temple University


Previous ESS Merit Award Winners                           
1960 Maurice Davis
1961 Welman J. Warner, Ray Abrams
1962 Robert S. Lynd
1963 Pitirim Sorokin
1964 Donald Young
1965 Leonard Cottrell, Jr
1966 Thorsten Sellin
1967 Talcott Parsons
1968 Robert MacIver
1969 Negley Teeters
1970 Theodore Abel
1971 Jessie Bernard
1972 Everett C. Hughes
1973 Helen MacGill Hughes
1974 Alfred McClung Lee,
Elizabeth Briant Lee
1975 Charles H. Page
1976 Paul Lazarsfeld
1977 Mirra Komarovsky
1978 Robert K. Merton
1979 Hylan Lewis
1980 A. B. Hollingshead, David Reisman
1981 William F. Whyte
1982 Robert Bierstedt
1983 Lewis Coser
1984 Robin M. Williams, Jr
1985 George Homans
1986 Matilda White Riley
1987 Rose L. Coser
1988 Digby Baltzell
1989 James Blackwell
1990 Morris Rosenberg
1991 S. M. Miller
1992 William J. Goode
1993 Renée C. Fox
1994 Melvin Kohn
1995 Herbert Gans
1996 Charles Tilly
1997 Charles B. Perrow
1998 Harrison C. White
1999 Eliot Freidson
2000 Suzanne Keller
2001 Kai Erikson
2002 Marvin Bressler
2003 Bernard Barber
2004 Cynthia Fuchs Epstein
2005 William A. Gamson
Caroline Hodges Persell
2006 Charles V. Willie
2007 Judith Lorber
2009 Richard Alba
2010 Nancy Denton
2011 Jerry Jacobs
2012 Margaret L. Anderson
2013 Karen Cerulo