Komarovsky Book Award

This award honors the memory of Mirra Komarovsky (February 5, 1905 – January 30, 1999), a pioneer in the sociology of gender. The co-winners of the 2021 Mirra Komarovsky Book Award are:

Angela S. García, University of Chicago, Legal Passing: Navigating Undocumented Life and Local Immigration Law

Celeste Watkins-Hayes, The University of Michigan, Remaking a Life: How Women Living with HIV/AIDS Confront Inequality 

Honorable Mention:

Andrew Deener, University of Connecticut, The Problem with Feeding Cities: The Social Transformation of Infrastructure, Abundance, and Inequality in America

Nominations for the 2022 Mirra Komarovsky Book Award are now being accepted. The award will be announced and presented at a special session at the annual meeting.

Books on any sociological subject are eligible. To be eligible for consideration, a book must have been published during 2019-2021, and at least one of its authors must be a current ESS member. Self-nominations are accepted; however nominations submitted by publishers alone will not be considered. Nominators and/or authors are responsible for arranging review copies to be sent to committee members.

Nominations should provide full publication information (including date of publication), a 1-2 paragraph rationale for the nomination, and should be sent via email to the committee chair.

Committee Members: 

Hilary Silver, Chair, George Washington University, ([email protected])

Ernesto Castenada, American University, ([email protected])

Andrew Deener, University of Connecticut, ([email protected])

Corey Fields, Georgetown University, ([email protected])

Jonathan Mijs, Boston University, ([email protected])

Copies of the nominated book should be sent to each member of the committee. Contact the Chair to arrange delivery.

DEADLINE for submissions is October 15, 2021