ESS Community Service and Activism Award

ESS Community Service and Activism Award

This award is presented annually to a community service and/or social justice organization working in the city in which the ESS meets during the particular year each award is given. To be eligible for consideration, the organization must be working to address a significant social problem, empower marginalized communities, advance community involvement and social-political participation in underrepresented communities, and/or effect positive change in the neighborhood/city/state in which they conduct their work. This award comes with a $750 stipend and the possibility to engage in a conversation with scholars on a panel during the ESS annual meeting at which the awards is given.

The 2020 award went to Puentes de Salud of Philadelphia, PA. 

Puentes de Salud is founded on the principles of Social Determinants of Health and Social Justice. We believe that community health, wellness, and empowerment result from a collaborative, multidisciplinary effort to address the conditions in which we grow, learn, live, work, and age. These conditions influence an individual’s quality of life and the development of the community as a whole. Puentes de Salud aims to improve community and individual health and wellness not only by providing immediate services, but also by acknowledging and challenging embedded social inequalities and injustices.

Puentes de Salud works in partnership with community members, local public schools, universities, governmental institutions, and other nonprofit organizations to address the adverse structural, economic, and social conditions that profoundly affect the prosperity of this community. At Puentes de Salud we are challenging the idea that deep and long-standing inequalities are acceptable realities within our society. We are not only re-imagining but also fostering an environment in which our vision of equitable access to health care, education, and empowerment exists.

To nominate a particular organization for this award, ESS members should send a letter (or letters) of nomination detailing how the nominated group fulfills the above qualifications. Please include examples of the nominated organization’s work, copies of (or references to) any relevant published materials and/or press coverage, and contact information for both nominator and nominee.

For the 2021 award, please send nominations to the award committee Chair.

Committee Members:

Amy Best, George Mason University, [email protected]

Carolyn Chernoff, [email protected]

Saulo Colón, Housatonic Community College, [email protected]

Sakinah Suttiratana, Yale University, [email protected]

Julie Wiest (Chair), West Chester University, [email protected]

 Deadline: October 15, 2020