top of page




Interested in our New Book Exhibit and Reception? It's an inexpensive way to promote your work. 

Email us at


2025 Conference: Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Thursday, March 6- Sunday, March 9


What Is ESS?

Our Society was founded in 1930 to advance sociological research, promote the effective teaching of sociology, develop more vital relationships between sociology and related disciplines, and to use the tools of the social sciences to address social problems. We publish a peer-reviewed journal Sociological Forum, host an annual conference, support workshops, and award prizes for excellence in the discipline.

Previous Meetings

Interested in refreshing your memory about what went on at a past meeting? Trying to remember the title of your 2008 ESS presentation for your tenure and promotion package? Consult an archived version of the meeting programs below.

Jeffrey K. Hass, Wartime Suffering and Survival: The Human Condition under Siege in the Blockade of Leningrad, 1941-44, Oxford University Press, 2021
  • Alexander Adames, University of Pennsylvania

  • Honorable Mention,

  • Yifeng Wan, Johns Hopkins University


Max Bebris. University of Wisconsin, Madison

Meg Bishop, University of Texas at Austin

Andres Besserer Rayas, CUNY Graduate Center

Tannuja Rozario, Every Town for Gun Safety


Ernesto Castañeda, American University

Ingrid Castro, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Victoria Reyes, University of California, Riverside

Sociological Forum

Sociological Forum, edited by Drs. Tammy Anderson, Ann V. Bell, and Asia Friedman of the University of Delaware, is the flagship journal of the Eastern Sociological Society. The journal is peer reviewed and committed to publishing high-quality, cutting-edge research on substantive issues of fundamental importance to the study of society. The journal’s mission is broad in scope, encompassing empirical works (both quantitative and qualitative in nature), as well as works that develop theories, concepts, and methodological strategies.

Visit us at: Sociological Forum - Wiley Online Library

Latest News & Updates

Join Our mailing list to receive the latest news, and updates delivered directly in your inbox.

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page