Mary C. Waters is the M.E. Zukerman Professor of Sociology at Harvard University. She is a leading scholar of immigration, inter-group relations, and the formation of racial and ethnic identities.   Her  influential and body of scholarship includes  Inheriting the City: The Second Generation  Comes of Age (with Holdaway, Kasinitz and Mollenkopf 2008) and Black Identities: West Indian Immigrant Dreams and American Realities (1999), both of which received the  Mira Komarovsky Award of the Eastern Sociological Society in addition to other  awards.  A public intellectual, Professor Waters has testified twice before congress on how the census should measure racial and ethnic identity. She has won wide recognition for her teaching and advising, including seven prizes for undergraduate teaching. Well-known for her clear and thought-provoking lectures, Professor Waters will speak on Disaster and Recovery: A Longitudinal Study of Hurricane Katrina Survivors