ESS Author Meets Critics Update

Dear ESS Members:

It has come to our attention that there has been confusion about the deadline to submit a proposal for the Author Meets Critics Sessions (AMC) for the 2020 ESS Meetings in Philadelphia. In the original e-mail (read below), we set the deadline for September 30, 2019. We learned, however, that we did not reiterate this deadline in subsequent e-mails, which lead some of the members to believe that we had inadvertently extended it to October 15, 2019.

In the interest of transparency, fairness, and equity to all ESS members, we have decided to extend the AMC deadline to 5pm ET on October 15, 2019. If you have already submitted a proposed panel, you need not re-submit it.

We have already received an unprecedented large number of AMC proposals this year, which attests to the intellectual vibrancy and enthusiasm among the ESS members, and will select AMC panels that reflect the diverse interests and constituency of the ESS membership.  We plan to make decisions by December 2, 2019.

Send submissions to Jennifer Lee at and to Enobong (Anna) Branch at

Jennifer Lee, President-Elect, ESS

Anna Branch, Vice President, ESS

Jennifer A. McAdam, Executive Officer, ESS

Original e-mail:


Sent: Thursday, May 16, 2019 6:59 PM

To: Sociology / Eastern Sociological Society <;

Subject: ESS 2020 Author Meets Critics Panels

The 2020 ESS Conference will include author-meets-critics (AMC) panels for selected books that are of widespread interest to the ESS membership and were published in the two years prior to the conference. In 2020, we will have AMC panels on books published in 2018 or 2019.  To submit an AMC panel for consideration, please send in a proposal that includes the following:

 Title, author, publisher and date of publication

A brief description of the book, including a statement on its importance and relevance for the ESS membership

The name and title of the organizer

The names and titles of 4 confirmed panel participants

Please submit proposals by 9/30/19 to Enobong “Anna” Branch; and Jennifer Lee;

Comments are closed.