Komarovsky Book Award

This award honors the memory of Mirra Komarovsky (February 5, 1905 – January 30, 1999), a pioneer in the sociology of gender. The winner of the 2018 Mirra Komarovsky Book Award is Filiz Garip from Cornell University.  The title of her book is On the Move: Changing Mechanisms of Mexico-U.S. Migration.

Nominations for the 2019 Mirra Komarovsky Book Award are now being accepted. In 2019, the annual meetings will be held in Boston. The award will be announced and presented at a special session at the annual meeting.

Books on any sociological subject are eligible. To be eligible for consideration, a book must have been published during 2016-2018, and at least one of its authors must be a current ESS member. Self-nominations are accepted; however nominations submitted by publishers alone will not be considered. Nominators and/or authors are responsible for arranging review copies to be sent to committee members.

Nominations should provide full publication information (including date of publication), a 1-2 paragraph rationale for the nomination, and should be sent via email to Richard Ocejo at rocejo@jjay.cuny.edu

Books must be sent by October 15, 2018 to the committee:

Richard E. Ocejo
Department of Sociology
Room 520.12 Haaren
John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY
524 W. 59th Street
New York, NY 10019

Amy L. Best, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
George Mason University
Robinson Hall B –Room 305
4400 University Drive MS 3G5
Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Filiz Garip
Cornell University
Department of Sociology
109 Tower Road
Ithaca, NY 14853