The winner of the ESS Merit Award for 2014 is Kathleen Gerson of New York University.  Ever since her first book, Hard Choices: How Women Decide about Work, Career and Motherhood (1985), which received the C.W. Mills Award, Gerson has exercised a decisive influence on the fields of gender and family studies. Her assured and original voice has helped to establish the field of families and work, an influence confirmed by later, much-acclaimed work: No Man’s Land: Men’s Changing Commitments to Family and Work (1993). The Time Divide: Work, Family and Gender Inequality with Jerry Jacobs (2010) and The Unfinished Revolution: Coming of Age in a New Era of Gender, Work, and Family (2011). Kathleen is Collegiate Professor of Arts and Science at NYU and, by her students’ testimonies, an inspiring teacher. The awards and marks of recognition she has received are too numerous to list; most recently, Gerson has received the Jessie Bernard Award of the American Sociological Association.. She is an active participant in disciplinary organizations, the co-president elect of Sociologists for Women in Society and past president of ESS.

For the 2015 award, the ESS Merit Award Committee invites members to recommend candidates. Those suggested should be distinguished scholars who have made outstanding contributions to the discipline, the profession, and the ESS. The committee may reconsider past recommendations but would appreciate a short statement to re-activate them. Recommendations should include a statement in support of the nominee and should be sent by October 31, 2014 to the committee chair:

Magali Sarfatti Larson 
ESS Merit Award Committee
Emeritus, Temple University

Previous ESS Merit Award Winners                           
1960 Maurice Davis
1961 Welman J. Warner, Ray Abrams
1962 Robert S. Lynd
1963 Pitirim Sorokin
1964 Donald Young
1965 Leonard Cottrell, Jr
1966 Thorsten Sellin
1967 Talcott Parsons
1968 Robert MacIver
1969 Negley Teeters
1970 Theodore Abel
1971 Jessie Bernard
1972 Everett C. Hughes
1973 Helen MacGill Hughes
1974 Alfred McClung Lee, Elizabeth Briant Lee
1975 Charles H. Page
1976 Paul Lazarsfeld
1977 Mirra Komarovsky
1978 Robert K. Merton
1979 Hylan Lewis
1980 A. B. Hollingshead, David Reisman
1981 William F. Whyte
1982 Robert Bierstedt
1983 Lewis Coser
1984 Robin M. Williams, Jr
1985 George Homans
1986 Matilda White Riley
1987 Rose L. Coser
1988 Digby Baltzell
1989 James Blackwell
1990 Morris Rosenberg
1991 S. M. Miller
1992 William J. Goode
1993 Renée C. Fox
1994 Melvin Kohn
1995 Herbert Gans
1996 Charles Tilly
1997 Charles B. Perrow
1998 Harrison C. White
1999 Eliot Freidson
2000 Suzanne Keller
2001 Kai Erikson
2002 Marvin Bressler
2003 Bernard Barber
2004 Cynthia Fuchs Epstein
2005 William A. Gamson, Caroline Hodges Persell
2006 Charles V. Willie
2007 Judith Lorber
2009 Richard Alba
2010 Nancy Denton
2011 Jerry Jacobs
2012 Margaret L. Anderson
2013 Karen Cerulo
2014 Kathleen Gerson