Barbara R. Walters Community College Faculty Award

The Barbara R. Walters Community College Faculty Award recognizes community college faculty who are actively engaged in scholarly work. Inspired by a gift from Barbara R. Walters (Kingsborough Community College) to the Committee, the goal of this award is to honor and support faculty in their academic endeavors, as well as to raise the visibility of community college faculty in the ESS.

Paper submissions for the award are encouraged that meet the following criteria:

  • Author is a community college faculty member, either full-time or part-time.
  • Abstract has been accepted for the 2019 Annual Meeting of the ESS.
  • The full paper does not exceed 35 double-spaced pages, including tables and references.
  • Submission includes a cover page with name, institutional affiliation and email address

The award will be announced and presented during a special session at the annual meetings. The recipient is expected to be present to receive the award. Eligible authors should submit an electronic version of their paper by January 15th, 2019 to the committee chair.  No papers submitted after this date will be accepted.


Glenda Gross, Ph.D.
Onondaga Community College


Past recipients:

2018  Marcus Bell, Onondaga Community College, (SUNY), Becoming White Teachers: Symbolic Interactions and Racializing the Raceless Norm in Predominantly Black Schools

2017 Jonathan Cornick, Queensborough Community College (CUNY), Stuart Parker, Kingsborough Community College (CUNY), and Amy Traver, Queensborough Community College (CUNY). “It’s Not Just a Math Problem”: Integrating Sociology and Math for Student Learning and Social Justice in Community College Contexts

2016   Etsuko Donnelly, Suffolk County Community College Wearing “My Sword”: Political Activism and Headscarf Practice among Muslim College Students

2015   Joshua L. Carreiro, Springfield Technical Community College W.E.B. Du Bois, Self-Segregation and Black Consumers’ Cooperation